Marriage and babies!

15 Nov

About a year and a half ago one of my close friends from school dropped a bombshell: she was pregnant. I, literally, couldn’t take the news in and I walked around in shock for a few days before actually starting to realise that six months down the line, she was going to a mum.

To begin with, and this is completely selfish I know, I felt pretty sad. I felt like I was losing my friend. What could we possibly have in common anymore? Our crazy nights on the town were a distant memory, for starters, and I’m not crazy about kids. But once I moved on from being selfish, I realised how amazing this was: she was going to be bringing a little life into the world, and I was going to be its auntie (kind of!) The baby wasn’t planned, and I really admired my friend for her courage. I’m not sure what I would have done in her position.

Her little boy, Theo, turned one last month and my friend absolutely adores being a mum. So much so that baby number two is on his or her way!

Back in college, I never expected her to be one of first out of our group of four to settle down first. The person I did expect to settle down first is married with a child and that happened about two years ago now, I think.

Well, a fortnight ago another close friend from school told me some news…her boyfriend of four years proposed! About six months ago she told me she’d love to get married so I knew it was on the cards, but it also came as a surprise. A lovely surprise, may I add! So lovely that it actually reduced me to tears. I know that her and her fiancee are just perfect for each other, and I can’t wait for the wedding. No doubt there will be a lot of tears when that day comes around!

It’s also scary to think that, by then, I might have some news of my own. (Don’t worry boyfriend, we’re talking at least a year and a half, and hey, my ‘news’ might be something completely unrelated to marriage and babies. Might.)

Leave a comment